to something new

I’m staring at a face

Once I knew so well

Every angle, every imperfection

Every hidden scar.

Who knew where it would go?

Who wondered the path it took

Through darkness

To Sorrow?

 

I’m staring at a face

It’s not what I knew so well

Less harshly cut lines less clear

joy upon its brow.

How could such a change exist?

How could the path so tightly turn?

From sorrow

Now to hope?

 

I’m staring at a face

I haven’t known so well

For far too long since childhood

Many years are lost

Why has grim and ghastly gone?

Why so swiftly has contentment come?

From hopelessness

To something new.

3 thoughts on “to something new

Leave a Reply

