Missing the Highlands

A lush green blanket of noble trees

Stand tall in valleys as they weave

Through contours of an unspoilt scene

 

The Highlands

My home

I miss you

 

Magnificent mountains shape the land

Where man has not yet laid his heavy hand

To judge Nature with his violent demands

 

The Highlands

My home

I miss you

 

Through hills gently rolls a glistening stream

To meet others of its humble kind is its only dream

To form a mighty river before running out of steam

 

 

The Highlands

My home

I miss you

 

Spreading her wings bravely to the sky

The Golden eagle sets across the loch to fly

To match its glory no winged being could even try.

 

The Highlands

My home

I miss you

9 thoughts on “Missing the Highlands

  1. I want to be there, too…it was beautiful…thanks…unlike you I have been where I have always been…and it is like I want to be at that place where I never was…and in some way, I think it feels the same

    • There is something magical about the highlands. I think most people who are lucky enough to visit connect with its beauty-I’m technically orginally from edinburgh, so not quite in the highlands, but i consider both the highlands and edinburgh to be home.

Leave a Reply

