I remember when

I remember when,

The world seemed simple, even good.

The innocent thoughts of youth,

Now crashed down by a brutal flood.

I remember when,

Success was a sticker in a school book,

The simple wishes of youth,

Now gone, the stickers overlooked.

I remember when,

Good was good and bad was bad,

The direct mind of youth,

Now hidden by a PC charade.

I remember when,

Money was not the only goal

The creative fun of youth,

Preferred toys to filling the pocket’s hole.

I remember when,

I woke up to find a painful truth,

The joyful years of youth,

replaced with adulthood’s heavy hoof.

One thought on “I remember when

Leave a Reply

